Get Into the Loop

An Evening of Love, Light & Laughter

Tuesday, May 8, 2007

Lupus LA Draws Star Power from Michael Chiklis, Paula Abdul for “Evening of Love, Light & Laughter”

Shawn Ryan and CCH Pounder of “The Shield” Honored

Lupus LA hosted its seventh annual “Evening of Love, Light and Laughter” gala to benefit lupus research on May 8, 2007, at the Beverly Hills Hotel. Actor Michael Chiklis, star of The Shield on FX, presented the 2007 Loop Award to the show’s Executive Producer, Shawn Ryan, for creating an ongoing storyline of a character living with lupus, and to the drama’s co-star, CCH Pounder, for her beautiful performance in that role. Suzanne Whang from NBC’s Las Vegas emceed the event and NBA veteran and FOX Sports host, John Salley, served as the guest auctioneer. Comedian Bobby Slayton performed his Vegas-style entertainment for the crowd.

Paula Abdul with honoree Kelly Stone

America’s favorite judge, Paula Abdul, came directly from an American Idol taping just in time to present the Medical Visionary Award to “The Amgen Family of Rheumatologists”— Brian Kotzin M.D., James Louie M.D., Judy Maddox M.D. and Debra Zack M.D. As a special surprise, Abdul added two American Idol tickets to the live auction. A walk-on appearance on The Shield was also auctioned off.

The evening also honored Kelly Stone, one of Lupus LA’s major supporters and sources of inspiration. She received the Michael Wayne Public Service Award from Gretchen Wayne. Gloriana DiCandia, age 15, who has lupus, was given the Spirit of Hope Award by actress Taraji P. Hensen.

Lupus LA thanks dinner chairs Michelle and Alan Kaye for their gracious leadership in making the night such a wonderful success.

Attendees included: Cathy Cahlin Ryan (The Shield), Benito Martinez (The Shield), Holly Robinson-Peete, Tiffany (recording artist), Sherri Shepherd (The View), Parminder Nagra (ER), Max Martini (The Unit), Goran Visnjic (ER), Walton Goggins (The Shield), Shondrella Avery (Napoleon Dynamite), Melissa Joan Hart, Bernie Brillstein, Ali Hillis (Must Love Dogs), Howie “D” Dorough, Shirly Brener (Employee of the Month), Scotti Thompson (NCIS), Rex Lee (Entourage), and Scott Grimes (ER).


Actress CCH Pounder and Shawn Ryan, Executive Producer, The Shield
2007 Loop Award | Presented by Michael Chiklis of The Shield

Kelly Stone
Michael Wayne Public Service Award | Presented by Gretchen Wayne

Amgen Family of Lupus Rheumatologists
Medical Visionary Award | Presented by Paula Abdul and Daniel J. Wallace, MD

Gloriana DeCandia and Family
udy Madwin Spirit of Hope Award | Presented by actress Julie Benz

View photos from this event »

back to top | back to main